Ferrari announces winners of Top Design School Challenge

Last week, while we were busy at the Detroit auto show, Ferrari announced the winners of the Top Design School Challenge: the Manifesto concept by ISD-Rubika students Michael Barthly, Grimaud Gervex, Jean Baptiste Epinat, Mickael Kalyvianakis, Stanislas Oleksiak and William Stock (video above).

Jury members Flavio Manzoni, Paolo Pininfarina, Jay Kay, Nick Mason, Nicola Boari, Franco Cimatti, Aldo Colonnetti, Rodolfo Gaffino Rossi, Andrea Militello and Sebastian Vettel were apparently won over by the completeness of the Manifesto design as well as the students’ ability to create a coherent overall vision of the car spanning its exterior, cabin and running gear. The spectacular door opening mechanism also highlights the evolution of the interior functions, using future-forward technologies. The exterior is instantly recognizable despite the fact that it incorporates certain orthodox features.

The jury also wanted to make a special mention of the FL concept by Roman Egorov, the only design that focused solely on the cabin. They commented that the Russian student from Pforzheim very successfully applied a highly unconventional design language to the interior, integrating and rethinking the human-machine interface in the process. He also chose to include luxurious materials rather than opting for the typical carbon-leather combination, demonstrating his ability to look well beyond accepted convention.

The Ferrari de Esfera concept created by Hongik University students Chae wook Lee, Ha kyoung Yeom and Woo jin Jung was also awarded a prize, having won the online voting competition.


Founded in 2012, Form Trends tirelessly covers the automotive design industry in all corners of the globe to bring you exclusive content about cars, design, and the people behind the products.